Was This a Mistake?

I’ve let myself go these last few weeks, and the small gray room with the yellow curtains has evolved.  I painted shelves and a picture frame.  A dresser has joined the plush gray chair as furniture pieces. I even placed bright yellow nobs on the closet and drawers.  I feel as if it is no longer just a room, at some point it became a nursery.  Between hand-me-downs from friends and a few careful purchases we’ve acquired the basic.  We have a rocker, a car seat, and I’ve even started filling the dresser drawers with just enough clothing for the first few weeks of our baby’s life. To some extent, we’re ready.

As I said before, nesting while waiting to adopt is a dangerous thing.  It can be therapeutic, but it can also be destructive.  It can keep hope alive but it  can also drain you of your energy to move forward. So what do I do now? We could get a call tomorrow, or it could be years.  How do I keep myself sane?

Leave a Reply

